top of page

Show Us What You Got '17


Haute Latte

I've always loved the feeling of a new year, there is something so uplifting about a fresh start. The new year is a chance to reflect on all that the previous year has blessed you with, and wow am I thankful for 2016. It was a tumultuous year, but I managed to walk away with some of the best memories and friendships yet. To all future high school seniors, be warned that your graduating year is a whirlwind of emotions. Within the same year, you will feel at the peak of high school freedoms and seniority privileges, you will laugh with your best friends during your off campus lunch period, you will shed tears and lose sleep over college applications and decisions, you will say goodbye to the classmates you have grown up with, you will graduate, you will pack all of your most important belongings into boxes, you will say goodbye to your bedroom and home, you will hug your best friends as you part ways, you will cry as your family leaves you in an unfamiliar dorm room with an unfamiliar roommate, you will cheer on a new school sports team with a different school name and mascot, you will meet so many new people your head might explode, you will become so attached to your new best friends that thanksgiving break feels too long, you will pull college all nighters, you will sing and dance and laugh with best friends you didn't even know until September, you will cry about your essays and exams and maybe even change your major, you will complete your first semester of college, and I can promise you that it will be one of the best years of your life.

2016 was packed full of lessons, I feel that I learned a lot about myself. For me, 2017 is going to be all about self improvement and enhancing the extent to which I am actually living. I put together my resolutions with four overarching themes. In the year twenty seventeen, I hope to:

Live Healthier: Drink more water, eat more fruits and vegetables, & establish a workout regimen. In 2017 I hope to attain a healthy body that I am proud of.

Live Kinder: Think kinder thoughts, compliment people more often, constantly think of ways to show your friends and family that you love them. A positive attitude can open so many doors, try to always be kind and see the silver lining of situations. Speak kindly to your friends and even more importantly, speak kindly of them when they are not present. Do not forget to also be kind to yourself.

Live Deeper: Feed your soul by listening to music and reading books that make you feel something. Don't fall into the mainstream activities, music, clothing just because it is easy to do. Have serious and intellectual conversations with your peers and your elders. It is so easy to behave in a surface level manner, push yourself to be more than that.

Live Inspired: Follow your interests with passion and don't be afraid to try something new. Be appreciative of all that you have and always look for the beauty in your surroundings. Allow yourself to feel joy and excitement. Let tranquility wash over you by simply breathing in the air around you.

I am so thankful for the people I am entering 2017 with and I fully intend to live by my new resolutions. I wish you all a happy new year full of love & joy. Good luck in all that you wish to accomplish this year.

xx Michaela

 

SUBSCRIBE
VIA EMAIL

bottom of page