top of page

Staying Warm Yet Stylish During Winter Months


Surviving Minnesota winters is a difficult endeavor. With subzero temperatures and chilling winds, we are lucky if the snow has somehow disappeared by the end of March. Something I find particularly challenging during these frigid months of winter is finding outfits that are warm yet still fashionable. I feel best about myself when I'm confident in my outfit, but when it is so cold I feel tempted to wear a sweatshirt every single day (which there is nothing wrong with!! but again, I feel so much more confident when I'm wearing something cute). Below are some ideas for wearing stylish clothes that will keep you warm.

Layers

Layer up! Turtlenecks and oversized sweaters are your best friends during the winter. Adding a lightweight turtleneck under a sweater adds a surprising amount of warmth to an outfit, and also creates a fashionable winter look. This Cotton On sweater and Forever 21 turtleneck are currently two of my favorite items to pair together on freezing cold days.

Scarves

There are so many unique and stylish scarves on the market. Scarves are a great accessory that also keep you warm in the winter. This particular shawl style scarf from Urban Outfitters looks great with sweaters or layered over cardigans. It also has pockets to keep your hands warm if you are spending any time outside in the cold.

Ponchos/Blanket Scarves I have seriously been living in these large blanket scarves all winter. As their name suggests, they are basically the more socially acceptable equivalent of wearing a blanket around. Paired with a pair of blue jeans and a tight turtleneck long sleeve, you can achieve a fashionable yet very warm and comfortable winter outfit.

I hope this post helps give you some inspiration and outfit ideas for the remainder of the winter! Sending warm thoughts to all of you :) If you haven't already, enter your email in the subscription box to the right so that you will get notified when new fashion, lifestyle, or beauty posts are published.

xx Michaela

 

SUBSCRIBE
VIA EMAIL

bottom of page